A look behind the curtain

Slow work on the next story, which has been sitting on my hard-drive in the first draft a month or so, but should get the time to knock it into shape next week, and it’ll be up after proofreading etc.

One of the fun parts of writing fiction is how the thing takes on a life of its own, and certain ‘authorial choices’ just fall away because of the demands of the text. In this case the story was going to be called The Bottom-Feeders Club, a title I came up a few years ago, and I liked its sleazy pulp connotations. At first it was about the narrator picking up women in dive bars, focusing on a female character who eventually became Tara in Loving Wife Online. Then I let the idea sit a while, came back and typed up something else, with that character ending up as Kate in a whole series of totally different stories.

Then a month ago I went back to the idea, typed up 10k words and got the first draft in place, kind of wonky in places but still holding together – set-up, sex scene 1, development, sex scene 2, and so on. I was going to tie it in with Letter to Rich Cuck, the step-mother/step-daughter couple in that, but then went in another direction. Now it’s sitting on my hard-drive with the names Jenn, Celine and Tiffany for the three female characters, although I can’t say for sure they’ll be in the final draft.

In short, writing is a strange magic, even at my low level and within the ‘dirty books’ genre that’s my scene when working as PB Rider (‘paperback writer’), one of several heteronyms I ply my trade with.

And what’s the point of this post?

Well, stories don’t often come out fully-formed. Except for one or two cases, such as Ariana Cheats with Me, I never just sit down and type the first draft from start to end. There’s a whole messy process of false starts, collage and revision.

So if you came here for a new story then this post is here to suggest that you can do this. You can start writing, and it’ll probably be bad at first, but that’s OK. You read it, make changes, and see what emerges from the text and somewhere deep inside, places you don’t often go and may never even visit awake. My stories just come out from the ends of my fingers hitting the keyboard, and, months later, reading back, I often have no idea what the hell I was thinking.

So if you came here for a story, and can’t find the one you want, why not sit down with a pen and paper, or a keyboard, and see what you come up with?

That said, something new from me will be online by mid-June, at latest, and then I hope to blast through the next, next story. I’ve got lots of ideas, but I’m curious what my fingers will produce.

(And if you’ve read this far, and it’s still June / July 2017, then check out my Amazon page at the weekends. Lesbian-owned Wife and Priya’s MDMA Gangbang are free on alternating Saturdays and Sundays. Both are highly offensive, adults only stories that I had a lot of fun writing.)

Leave a Reply

